B1 – Summer 2013 – Holiday ads and holiday headaches

Travel related texts from students studying on our B1 Summer course.

Holiday adverts

Border adventure

Star Trips is organizing an exciting trip called Get to know the border between Portugal and Spain.

This holiday gives you the chance to visit Monte Gordo and lasts seven days.

The trip is perfect for people who like adventure and want to go scuba diving, hiking, canoeing, horse riding and water skiing.

We guarantee you will see the best sunset ever on this beautiful coast line and enjoy the warmest water on the wonderful coast of The Algarve.

During this trip you can eat sea food and Bolas de Berlim which are Portuguese sweets popular in The Algarve.

We promise you a relaxing experience as well as adventure that is great value for money.

Book today!

Adventure is out there!  American Trip

Ever wanted to get to know North, Central and South America?  Ready for the trip of a lifetime?

This trip lasts 5 months and gives you the chance to grow as a person and get to know new cultures.

We offer you the opportunity to visit Canada, San Francisco, New York, Mexico, Columbia, Venezuela, Peru, Chile, Argentina and finally Brazil.  It’s an unmissable chance to go sightseeing in these wonderful destinations.

The tour is perfect for people who have an adventurous spirit and have the desire to learn about traditions.

If you like adventure, this is the best trip for you.

Formal letters to a travel agency…

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am writing to tell you about the problems I had during my trip to America which I booked with you nine months ago.

First of all, I arrived to New York to take a flight to California but the plane was late which meant we missed our connection.  As a result we had to pay for a night in a hotel and a new flight to San Francisco.  The airline said I should contact you about compensation.

Then, in Brazil, when I was waiting for my bag, someone picked it up by mistake and I never got it back.

As you can imagine, all these problems spoiled my holiday because I spent more money than I expected and lost many things that were in my lost bag.

I would appreciate it if you could help me with a partial refund.

Yours faithfully, …

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am writing to tell you about some problems I had during my recent trip to Monte Gordo last June.

First of all, when I arrived at the hotel I discovered that there was not a car park near by.  This was very inconvenient. Furthermore, the bedroom was very noisy at night even though your advert promised a ‘relaxing trip.’  Last but not least, the beach was very far from the hotel.

Although the receptionist of the hotel was very professional, she was unable to offer me a refund for these problems.  For these reasons, I would be grateful if you would return 20% of the money I paid for this trip.

Yours faithfully,

Leave a comment

Filed under B1 - Summer 2013

Leave a Reply

