B2 – Fantasy Interview: James Dashner

If you had the chance to interview anyone, living or dead, real or fictional, famous or unknown, who would you choose?  What would you ask them and why?

This was a question we put to some of our students preparing to do the Cambridge English: First exam in December 2014.  Here is one of the responses we got from a big fan of the author James Dashner.

Dear editor,

I saw the advert in your magazine asking about who it would be my dream to interview and decided to write to you with my choice.

There are tons of people I would love to interview.  Some of them are dead, others are alive, but all of them have been inspirations to me.  However, since I can only pick one, I would have to choose the writer of one of my favourite series of books, The Maze Runner.  The writer’s name is James Dashner and he has an incredible imagination.

The main reason behind me wanting to interview him is that I think he has a way with words that not many have.  In my view this sets him apart from other writers.  If I were given the chance to ask him some questions, the first one would be where James found the inspiration to write such a story as The Maze Runner.  Other things I would like to know are how he came up with the characters, whether they were based on real people or entirely fictional and, if he could only read one book for the rest of his life, what it would be.

Interviewing James Dashner would be a dream come true and I sincerely hope it happens some day.

Yours faithfully,

J.

Want to know more about the subject of this text?  Here are some links that might be of interest:

Leave a comment

Filed under B2 - Cambridge English: First, B2 - Cambridge First Writing, Fantasy interview

Leave a Reply

